Sally the Salt Model

Since I discovered how to use the middle mouse button and managed to make that pretty cool fan, I figured I should go back and try to model the objects that I originally intended to.

I had chosen to model “Sally the Salt” shaker- star of my Youtube stop motion, (link is at the end of this post)- however, you may notice that she is missing her eye. That is simply because it took me long enough to get the simple shape of condiment container.

There were two new tools I learnt to use whilst creating Sally.

The texture tool and the tool to make holes.

Although, I’m not too impressed with the fact that the holes were square but I have yet to master the patience of making it more circular.

I used the Autodesk site for guidance on how to actually create holes in models, and a youtube video for guidance on textures.

Sally Snapshot
Sally Snapshot
Sally Model
Sally Model

Youtube video : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T-fFpmBYP_Q

Citation.

MegaBcoyle. (2011). MAYA 3D ModellingTutorial – Materials and texturing in Maya. Available: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T-fFpmBYP_Q&app=desktop. Last accessed 11th Dec 2014.

Leave a Reply

